Feature – Mâtowak Woman Who Cries by Joylene Nowell Butler


Author Joylene Nowell Butler is on tour this month with MC Book Tours featuring her new novel, Mâtowak Woman Who Cries, being released Nov. 1 by Dancing Lemur Press L.L.C.
You can follow Joylene’s tour schedule HERE for excerpts, Q&As,  chances to win copies of her book and more.
A murder enveloped in pain and mystery…
When Canada’s retired Minister of National Defense, Leland Warner, is murdered in his home, the case is handed to Corporal Danny Killian, an aboriginal man tortured by his wife’s unsolved murder.
The suspect, 60-year-old Sally Warner, still grieves for the loss of her two sons, dead in a suicide/murder eighteen months earlier. Confused and damaged, she sees in Corporal Killian a friend sympathetic to her grief and suffering and wants more than anything to trust him.
Danny finds himself with a difficult choice—indict his prime suspect, the dead minister’s horribly abused wife or find a way to protect her and risk demotion. Or worse, transfer away from the scene of his wife’s murder and the guilt that haunts him…

Excerpt:
Chapter 14
My laughter sounds like a horse neighing. I shut my mouth, put my phone away, slam the shift stick into drive. None of this is funny. And I’m tired. Trying to understand a woman, particularly Meshango without a decent night’s sleep is stupid. Why can’t people just say what they think without all the games?

I stay inside the minivan’s earlier tracks, drive out onto the road, pay special attention to the patches of what the weatherman reports as black ice. On the coast I remember wondering what the hell they meant. Ice isn’t black. Now I know. Half a block later the car’s rear end hits a black spot, slides sideways. I right the vehicle. Adrenaline rush.

No more delays—I’ll have the shop install studded tires in the morning.

Conscious of the faint ache in the back of my neck, I park, enter the detachment. It’s late. I can’t bring myself to go home. The house in Fort George is only a house. Without Angie no place is home.

The ache in my neck worsens. I’ve a couple of choices. Either visit a chiropractor or a sweat lodge. Or the third, suck it up.

Focus on the job.

My stomach growls.

The vending machine holds two of my favourite chocolate bars. Three painkillers later, accompanied by a mouthful of coffee and one of the bars, I roll up my sleeves, read over the crime reconstruction report from Surrey.

Gauthier, the investigator already on the case, someone I’ve worked with in the past, left a voice message saying he’d call me after his interview with Warner’s assistant in Ottawa. Though Warner hadn’t worked with her for almost a year, Gauthier thinks she’ll have insight into the man nobody else can give us.

GIS Security at House of Commons writes down the additional questions I have for Warner’s assistant and promises they’ll pass them along. After ample assurances that yes I’ll hear back from Ottawa ASAP, I hang up. It’s amazing how cooperative everyone is when the victim’s an ex-minister. Normally, I’d have to wait until morning to get anywhere.

I finish the last chocolate bar, turn on the computer. The analysis program used to profile cases doesn’t give much. Once again I key in the particulars. Almost immediately it comes back flashing Mrs. Warner’s name. Probability strong.

“Where’s the evidence?”

No gunpowder residue was detected on her person or her clothing. No weapon. The spent shell casing is missing. There were no tire tracks or footprints on the property. So far, no records or files hint at political improprieties, none of the nasty e-mails most politicians live with daily. No revenge-seeking stalkers. No hint of a jilted lover.

Mâtowak Woman Who Cries is available in eBook at the following sites:
The print copy is available at: 

When Joylene’s father died in 1983, she wrote her first full–length manuscript to channel her grief. The seven-year process left her hooked and she began Dead Witness within a few weeks of finishing Always Father’s Child. Today Joylene is the author of three suspense novels: Dead Witness, Broken But Not Dead, and the steampunk collaboration Break Time. While she’ll admit being published didn’t fix all the wrongs in her life, she wishes her parents had lived to see her success. Dead Witness was a finalist in the 2012 Global eBook Awards. Broken But Not Dead won the 2012 IPPY Silver Medal and its sequel Mâtowak Woman Who Cries is due for release November 1, 2016.
Joylene lives with her husband and their two cats Marbles and Shasta on beautiful Cluculz Lake in central British Columbia. They spend their winters in Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico.
For more on Joylene and her writing, visit her website and blog then connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and her Amazon Author Page.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

This entry was posted in book feature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Feature – Mâtowak Woman Who Cries by Joylene Nowell Butler

  1. Pingback: Mâtowak Woman Who Cries by Joylene Nowell Butler – MC Book Tours

  2. Mason Canyon says:

    It’s interesting to get glimpses of the story through an excerpt. Lois, thanks for being a part of Joylene’s tour.

    Thoughts in Progress
    and MC Book Tours

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for featuring me and my baby today, Lois! Really appreciate it. Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The book sounds so intriguing! Congratulations, Joylene!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

