Feature – Once Loved by Cecy Robson


ONCE LOVED – On sale January 20, 2015

About the book

He’s the campus golden boy. She’s picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson’s scorching novel of second chances—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—their differences only make their connection more explosive.

Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar—some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start . . . until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid’s help.

Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student—and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn’t break through the walls she’s put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past—and trusting someone more than he’s ever dared.

Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

Excerpt
The bus engine roared as it crawled up the steep hill and onto our small campus. The trees on either side parted like a curtain, revealing the collection of buildings spread out along the valley . . . and the police cars with flashing lights angled to the side.

Strobes of blue and red smacked against my window. Our director stood, rushing to the side. “What the . . . ?”

Below us, two campus cops struggled to cuff the densely tattooed arms of a very large and very volatile Latino male.

A chill clawed the length of my spine. No. Oh, God. No.

Carlos, my father, donkey-kicked, toppling the cops fighting to restrain him. They rolled with Carlos backward onto the pristine lawn, landing beside a large stone statue of Saint Jude. The cops regrouped and then tackled Carlos when he tried to stand. Carlos whipped back an arm, punching one cop in the face and kneeing another in the groin.

“Oh!” everyone on board shouted. They climbed over each other, scrambling to get a better view as the bus driver slowly maneuvered around the chaos.

“Who the hell is that?” Dina said, fear shrilling her voice.

“Whoever he is, he’s strong,” Gary added. “I’m glad I’m not down there.”

“Fucking animal,” Razor spat.

Shame had me burrowing into my seat. Holy shitballs, I just wanted to die. And then something happened that I didn’t expect, and the impact raked at my heart. A large hand slid down my arm to intertwine with my fingers. During the commotion, Brody had switched seats with Alice. I didn’t have to glance behind me to know it was him. I remembered the scent of his cologne, and his touch. Especially his touch.

Brody curled against me, shielding me from the barrage of escalating voices and scathing remarks. Without a word, he held me, pretending like me that Carlos was a stranger. But he knew him. He was there the last time Carlos had hurt me and made me bleed.

I clasped my free hand over my mouth, trying not to cry from his show of support or from the memory of that day. For now I was safe. The tinted windows offered protection and kept me hidden. But they failed to spare me from my reality below.

I saw everything clearly—saw how the remainder of the police force arrived to secure the situation, saw my father being dragged away, and saw the large bruises swelling my mother’s busted lip and face. She stood with her arms crossed, watching everything, saying nothing, doing nothing. Just like she always had every time my father beat us.

At that moment, I wasn’t sure who I hated more.

————————————

About the author
Cecy Robson is the New Adult and Contemporary author of the Shattered Past series, and the award winning author of the Weird Girls Urban Fantasy Romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song, despite her family’s vehement protests. A full-time writer, registered nurse, wife, and mother living in the South, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Where to find the author
Website
Twitter
Facebook
Tsu
Google+
GoodReads

Where to find the book
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
iTunes
Kobo
GoodReads

Giveaway
There is a gift card of the winner’s choice bookseller and Loveswept mug and Romance at Random nail polish up for grabs – go and check it out right over here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advertisements
This entry was posted in book feature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feature – Once Loved by Cecy Robson

  1. Thank you for the wonderful feature and for being part of the Once Loved tour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s